It was such a lovely surprise when I opened my letterbox to find my monthly issue of Vogue had arrived. And I was even more excited about this issue because when I took the magazine out of the packaging I saw a stunning Puerto Rican woman on the front cover who I soon learnt was Joan Smalls.

 

Joan began her career as a model in 2007 when she was 19 years old, and to this day travels the world modeling for high-end labels such as Givenchy, Marc Jacobs, Gucci and Alexander Wang.

Joan has had an extraordinary career so far walking for labels such as Anna Sui, Burberry, Prada, Yves Saint Laurent and Valentino. In 2011 she continued to appear in editorials for publications such as W, Paris Vogue and Vogue España, and was featured in Italian Vogue’s all-black issue and was also signed as the first Latina face of Estée Lauder.

 

 

It was so inspiring to see a model like Joan gracing the covers of such a high profile fashion magazine with her striking looks and beauty. Especially when it is so often the same looking models appearing on the cover of every single magazine.

I hope that seeing this cover inspires more models like Joan to pursue their careers and make a name for themselves in the modeling world.

