I know this may sound a little g-a-y but I absolutely love Christmas time!

It is even more enjoyable now that I have children. I don’t even mind having to spend time with those freaky family members that I have…admit it, everyone has a freaky Tasmanian cousin don’t they? There is always one…right?

At home we always get a real tree that the kids decorate. On average this falls over four times and dies before Christmas, but it wouldn’t be a real Christmas without sitting around a dead tree!

I always wrap my gifts in the same wrapping paper every year – not really sure why but perhaps it is to make up for the dead tree. This year I have been wrapping in my standard brown and then using a strip of amazing wrapping that I found at my local stationery store/cafe (Tuccibrown) in Bay Street Brighton.

I usually find it difficult to find decorations that aren’t too tacky, but this year I have managed to find some beautiful handmade reindeer from Ruby Star (please see pic). These are a great house accessory, even after Christmas. I know I will be bringing mine back out all year round.

Buying gifts for everyone can be really exy and let’s face it, where do you stop? (do I really need to give the postman a present?) Instead, I usually make peanut butter balls, a recipe that my mother gave me (I’m not claiming to be a Donna Hay or in my case, and very quietly, Kylie Kwong…btw Billy Kwong’s restaurant is possibly one of my faves in Sydney). These balls are super easy, a little messy, but also very yummy! Bundle these together with a little card and it’s the perfect gift! Also great to have on hand for those unexpected gift givers.

Image

Please note – not quite sure if people actually eat these, I myself have issues eating anything homemade, especially if I don’t know the person. Michael tells me that most people don’t actually have these issues as he reaches for his 10th biscuit from the postman’s wife, dropped off this morning, cat hair attached…get my drift? Regardless below is my recipe, enjoy!

Peanut butter ball recipe:

1.5 cups of rice bubbles
1 cup peanut butter
2.5 cup icing sugar
1/4 cup of melted butter

Place all in bowl and stir, roll into balls and cover in chocolate, refrigerate and serve.

Michael, if you happen to be reading this, my Christmas wish list this year is:
Michael Kors gold plated watch – check it out at (http://www.asos.com/Michael-Kors/Michael-Kors-Mk5128-Rose-Gold-Plated-Watch/Prod/pgeproduct.aspx?iid=1367713) hot, right?
Miu Miu sparkled flats
Candles – any kind I love love love them!
Mecca make up
And maybe just half a day to myself, or the choice to go to the toilet alone – without the whole family joining in

All that said, I would like to wish you all a very Merry (and safe) Christmas!

Image

