We all say that time flies and to see Spring Racing carnival here again just proves how busy we all are and how quickly the days go by. I can’t believe that it has been 2 years since my last carnival.  Being pregnant last year during the racing season, I decided to take time away from the glitz and glamour. I guess looking back now I was hiding behind the kids and my big expanding belly! As all pregnant women could agree, it is easy to hibernate and be anti -social when you are feeling as big as a house!  Michael was a driving force in getting me back out on the track (so to speak!) in 2011. He is great at helping me find time to spend with my girlfriends and just be me, not “mum” or “wife”.  Lets face it the thought of finding a dress, shoes, hat and then the process of hair, makeup, nails, babysitters etc seems more like a chore than the daily routine of school runs and nappy changes! But somewhere I found the time to get myself out there.

I am lucky enough that Toni Maticevski is one of my dearest friends, so this year for Derby we had great fun designing my dress. Toni is always so great to work with and having him as such a close friend helps to ensure that I always get a dress I love!  Not only was I lucky enough to have this honour, I also go to wear an amazing Philip Treacy hat. I must be honest and say that I am not really a hat wearer, I find them quite awkward and silly and constantly feel like the cat in the hat! But once I saw Philip’s amazing creation I couldn’t say no!. It complimented my outfit perfectly. Thanks to all for the lovely comments posted on various sites.

Overall the day turned out to be so much fun and the time spent relaxing and drinking bubbles with girlfriends was great. I highly recommend to all the girls out there to make a spot in your diary for some “girly” time.

 

 

 

